Please enable Javascript in your browser....

The Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS specifies requirements for learning and development and for safeguarding children and promoting their welfare (it covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities). Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children are born ready, able and eager to learn. They actively reach out to interact with other people, and in the world around them. Development is not an automatic process, however. It depends on each unique child having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments. It identifies following four themes:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

The EYFS learning and development requirements comprise:

  • The seven areas of learning and development and the educational programmes;
  • The early learning goals;
  • The assessment requrirements;

The seven areas of learning and development are;

  • Personal, Social And Emotional Development
  • Communication And Language
  • Physical Development
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding The World
  • Expressive Art And Design
  • Literacy

In order to gain the maximum access to and benefit from the new frame work the children are encouraged to be autonomous, to organise their own time and to be in control of their own learning. We recognise that the most valuable learning takes place when children have freedom of choice, and access to sustained activity. They have the choice of the indoor or outdoor provision. The children are encouraged to participate in structured activities as well as self initiated ones.